Skip to content

My New Creation: The Cocktail Dress by Ms. Nae (That’s Me)

July 13, 2012

I’ve done it again and created a new cocktail dress to add to my creation.  I started making the dress about two months ago, but never finished it until last night.  The one thing I was mostly concerned about was the length because it’s short (as you can see); and I’m in my mid 40′s so short for me at my age can either work for me or against me.  

My boyfriend, James, saw it and thought it was very nice but a little on the short side.  I just smiled.  My daughter loves it.  She even loves the length.  I posted it on Facebook to see what kind of responses I’d get, and so far I’ve got a handful of likes. 

Here’s the killer part about this == it’s completely hand-sewn.  Oh, yeah, we have a sewing machine – it’s my daughter’s, but when I learned from my mom how to sew, it was by hand.  What I am going to do is go back over it with the sewing machine to tighten up the stitching.

The fabric is a royal blue with top floral patterns.  It can be problematic to work with if you don’t know what you’re doing, and cutting it was somewhat time consuming because of where I wanted the hem to be and putting in the zipper and the strap.  This is that kind of fabric that is better suited as a dress.  If I have enough left over I’d like to make a bolero/short jacket to match the dress.

I want to create a line of cocktail dresses like this using different one-shoulder styles, different fabrics and colors, and using different trims.  That is where my thinking is taking me these days.  It’s a little known fact that sewing is something I really love to do I just don’t do enough of it. 

And if I have to bring in a seamstress later on down the line to help with sewing the dresses together, if I started to sell some I could cut her in on the project, too.  That way she gets paid for her time and services and I get paid for my dress designs. :) :) If the Housewife of Orange County– I believe it was Alexis — if she can do it, why can’t I.  The difference is she has a backing to back her line.  In my case it’s just me — doesn’t stop me, though.  This is what I’d like to do before I get too old to enjoy it, and if I can get better at it, then that’s what I’m going to do to keep working at. 

What’s on the Horizon for a Next Project

I have been looking at lace dresses and how they are made.  The dress I bought my daughter recently to wear to a wedding was really chic and elegant and it complimented her figure, and there’s the dress I picked up from JC Penny which had rhinestones throughout the dress.  I’m currently looking at different patterns and designs to see how hard it would be to make a lace dress.  It would mean using a lining the dress would be over.  For this I would definitely need a fit mannequin, but have you seen the prices for those?  Way up there!!!  But anyway, that’s the next DIY project I’m considering working on.

Photo from Lace Manufacturer.

How I made the blue cocktail dress was simply sat down for a minute, closed my eyes and envisioned it in my head.  And the picture above is the product of my vision.

I have been going to different fabric stores getting ideas on what I’m looking for and so far I have seen a few colors and lace patterns that I’m going to work with.  Stay tuned for what’s to come.

Updated July 16, 2012

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2012 11:59 am

    Very creative – I love the diagonal strap!

    • July 13, 2012 12:26 pm

      Thank you so much. It’s fun to be different and creative…going away from what everybody’s doing these days. Stay tuned because I’ll be making more creative dresses in weeks/months to come.

  2. July 14, 2012 6:22 am

    You are looking fantastic. Love the dress and love those heels. ;)

    • July 15, 2012 1:56 pm

      Thank you for your comment. The dress was definitely a labor of love.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

