Skip to content

This Week in Fashion: What the Heck is That?

March 9, 2010

I’ve only gotten in to wearing boots for a little over three years now, and over the past couple of years I’ve seen some serious designs that have been real eyebrow raisers.  In another post I talked about how boots have evolved and over the past ten years — a decade — I’ve seen the limits designers are willing to go to achieve the ultimate pair of boots.  But what I can’t understand for the life of me is what on earth made them want to create a peep toe style boot, or a boot that’s in combination with a high heel sandal…clearly not made for the wet or cold weather. 

What’s so ironic is that shoe-nistas will consider these odd-looking boots a part of fashion and are a must have.  But what I can’t understand is who in their right mind would wear them regardless of price.  These booties here are clear with studs, has a triple buckle, 1 inch platform with a 4 3/4 heel, and a smooth-lined foot bed.  The heel is gladiator-inspired.  (Picture from Amiclubwear.com.)  Would you be caught dead wearing these?  Seriously!  I’m still trying to figure them out.

And when you think about how far boots have come from the 70’s to date, they have crossed many boundaries and not to mention barriers to allow designers to go beyond their exploratory vision by doing what’s considered different and unique by far.  Giving ideal taste to proclaimed shoe lovers who will support their visionary style by open wearing them to express their unique ability to be as different as the shoe designers.  What’s that saying, “The taste is all in their mouth!”

On a different note, I can’t seem to get past the flip-flop boot.  Or as better known as the Leather Thong Knee Height Sandal Boot.  Seriously?  Is this really wear we’re heading in the new generation of shoes and designs?  It’s a bit scary when you think of it because now I can only imagine who’ll be wearing them and with what.  The skinny, skinny girls with their mico-mini dresses showing their butt cracks, and tight-fitting tops.  As you can see they are stylishly created with a chain that extends 16 inches across the shaft, has a 3/4 inch stacked heel and a center seam down the center.  Problem I see is when summer really hits, just how comfortable will they be.

One thing for sure is I can always count on Amiclubwear.com to get their hands on some pretty strange and outrageous looking shoes, which only says to me just how far they are willing to go to get their hands on what is considered a representation fo the most latest and current trends, which happens to be the most boldest designs they can find.  And what’s so fascinating about that web site, too, is many of their styles are hot ticket items, on top of being reasonably priced, and seem to go really quickly, just as fast as they place the items on their site, they can be gone within hours.

Now how about this interesting number here.   Has a soft faux leather upper in a platform sandal boot style with a round open toe, side cutout vamp strap, lace up front, 11 inch shaft.  Includes a back zipper closure, 1/2 inch platform mid-sole with 4 1/2 inch heel.  This is one style I am just baffled — having a hard time understanding.  Even with my taste in shoes (and even I have limits) I can’t seem to wrap my mind around this design.  Exactly what is the designer of this style trying to say?  Where was he/she going with this design?

It’s fair to say that this goes beyond my rule of keeping it simple, but stylish at the same time; be different, but with taste and flare.  These designs supersedes my ability to stick to the rules of how boots are really supposed to be designed.  Frankly, boots and high heels sandals should never be incorporated to this magnitude. 

We’ve opened the doors to a higher level of designer’s creativity and given them more room than they’ve ever had to explore their inner creative flow, which does more than symbolize who they are and what they’re capable of doing.  If this is an indication of what spring/summer 2010 has to offer, I hope the clothes do not become just as enigmatic; and imagine what the fall/winter seasons will bring.

Updated Thursday, March 11, 2010

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 10:12 am

    hahahaha You’ve got me cracking up about that red bootlike creature. WTH? Hilarious – love it.

    • March 19, 2010 2:22 pm

      Hey, glad you liked the blog post. Aren’t those “creatures” (as you put it) an amazing invention? I seriously don’t think I could be caught wearing them. But you know, I’d be really curious to see someone in them so I can get snapshot of them and post, “I actually found someone whereing them!”

Leave a Reply

