Skip to content

Fruit Pick of the Week: Mispero

April 17, 2010

Getting off topic for a moment, I wanted to share with everyone with what I think is probably the sweetest grown little fruit I’ve ever tasted next to my favorite, the peach and the plums.  Misperos are a tropical fruit that blooms every year in my neighbor’s tree across the street from where I live.  A little history of this yellow fruit indicates that in Cuba it is called “Misepro” but in Central America, it is known as “Nispero.”  It is native to China and is considered the Mexican version of a loquat. 

They are very sweet and juicy, not at all acidy, and carry anywhere from 2 – 4 big brown seeds. 

I have never seen it in local grocery markets I go to, so understand why I wait for this fruit to be in season every year this time of the year.

Being on a low-caloric diet that incorporates lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, I have sense added this fruit to my list fresh fruits to eat.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Iris Barrera permalink
    April 14, 2012 12:47 pm

    Thank you so much! They have been growing in my yard for three years. Last night I ginally got up the courage to eat one which turned in ten. I typed small fruit large seed and got this. You solved the mystery!!

    • April 16, 2012 3:19 pm

      Glad this post helped solve your fruit mystery. 🙂

  2. Jamie permalink
    April 27, 2012 8:09 am

    WOW…same for me Iris….I have never known what this fruit was. I have a tree in my yard, we thought it was a persimmon tree. Now I know..thanks for your time and research, you saved me tons…and i just typed “small sweet fruit with large seeds”

Leave a Reply

