Skip to content

Beauty Pick of the Week: Masquerade Your Look with Physician’s Formula

June 11, 2010

Since my surgery January 2009 the one problem I’ve had to suffer with is pimples.  It’s been said that it’s probably related to my daily diet, not getting enough nutrients/vitamins, not drinking enough water, not eating enough vegetables…blah, blah, blah.  The problem now is I’ve been left with unsightly scars and blemishes. 

Many of the products on the market that claim to rid your skin of blemishes do not always work with me because of the chemicals that leave me itchy, more bumps than I care to deal with, thus more scars.

I turned to cosmetics, mostly foundations and powders to masquerade (the mask is from Hillywoodinoz) and enhance my overall look, but to no avail they did not solve my problem moving forward.  In another post, I talked about Physician’s Formula products.  It’s gentler on my skin, doesn’t leave me itchy, and it blends in evenly with my skin tone.  With that said, Physician’s Formula is my beauty pick of the week.

The bronzer powder palette is my favorite.  It’s light and sometimes I forget I’m wearing it.  You can use the powder with a foundation, but if you’re like me have reactions to chemicals in certain face products, you’ll probably want to try using a Physician’s Formula foundation in addition to the bronzer.

When I do wear makeup, I like to keep it quick and simple — eye liner, a nice lip gloss and a lip liner — because I don’t have a whole lot of time on my hands, nor the patience, to spend on putting on layers of eye makeup, blush and all that other stuff.  Perhaps when I was younger and I experienced with tons of makeup, but that was way back when.  I’m in my 40’s, and having kids (I have one), and having a major surgery, seemed to have sent my body dynamics off the Richter scale.

Skin care is a number one concern for me, right up there with eating healthier, and daily exercising.  Drs. William Knopf and Patricia Farris who are contributing authors on the Dr. Oz Show web site both agree that cosmetics can be a cause for acne problems.  Dr. Knoft says to control and avoid an acne breakout, he suggests taking really good care of your skin.  This includes using mild soap or cleansers to wash your face at least twice a day.  He also suggests using products that are non-comedogenic because they do not close up the pores.  Dr. Farris states that products with lanolin, petroleum, some vegetables oils, and olec acid are said to be comedogenic and should not be used on your face.  In light of this information, it explains the reactions I’ve had using cosmetics from L’Oreal, Cover Girl and other top leading cosmetics, as well as some cheap cosmetics.

If you prefer something more on the organic side, here’s some tid bit information about the Physician’s Formula organic bronzer:

  • 100% Free of Harsh Chemicals.
  • 100% Free of Synthetic Preservatives.
  • 100% Free of Parabens.
  • 100% Free of GMO’s.
  • 100% Free of Synthetic Colors.
  • 100% Free of Synthetic Fragrances.
  • 100% Cruelty Free.

I am assuming that over the years my skin was already on its way to the brink of sensitivity, going from being able to wear just about anything — even with oily skin — to now having to pay careful attention to what I use.  Physician’s Formula products are, but if wearing cosmetics is what you’re into and you suffer from all the major issues of having sensitive skin, Physician’s Formula can be your next best solution to the cure.

I use the Multi Color Bronzer, which the ingredients consists of Talc, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Mica, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tetrasodium EDTA, BHT, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Sorbic Acid.  It may Contain: Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide, Ultramarines, Red 7 Lake, Red 30, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake.  Picture of bronzer from CVS web site.

I do clean my face two times a day using mild a soap.  For exfoliating, I like using St. Ives.  Their products have never bothered my skin and I can exfoliate twice a week, while using a mild soap other times to clean my face.  I hear that using a foam is good, though I’ve never tried it, but I hear it recommended a lot in place of exfoliant cleansers.  I stay away from astringents because of a problem I had when the whole right side of my face literally peeled.

Did you know that daily exfoliation can harm your skin?   you risk drying out skin and stripping off the top layer.  As a result of over-exfoliating, your skin responds as if it were injured and produces more oil, resulting in acne.  And believe it or not the more we exfoliate, the more oily our skin becomes, and the more we feel we need to super cleanse our skin.  

Too, in some cases, even with using too much astringents, the skin reacts to the over-use, which can cause the skin to become extremely dry and scaly and depending on the skin type, it takes the skin longer to produce the oil it needs, probably due to the content level of alcohol.  Experts say that we do not need to exfoliate our skin on a day-to-day basis — meaning every single day.  Doing so is evidence that we are abusing the use of exfoliates (and astringents) to the point that we are inadvertently damaging our skin. 

Exfoliate and astringent use should be limited to once or twice a week, which is recommended, while using cream-based cleansers on other days  that are non-comdogenic.  And if you can avoid using astringents that contain alcohol, by all means do so.

Physician’s Formula multicolor bronzer has been the best choice for me thus far.  I still do have my skin flair-ups, but they are not cosmetic related.  To help combat my problems, I do eat more vegetables, drink plenty of water, and follow the tips of known dermatologists and doctors who say to “take good care of your skin” and this comes from all of the skin care research I do.  I don’t always want to rely on cosmetics to hide my blemishes and scars.  I want wearing cosmetics to be a choice, not because I have to. But until that time comes, it’s Physician’s Formula for me.

And this picture is me today.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

