Skip to content

This Week in Fashion: Swimsuits for the Women Over 40

July 5, 2010

It’s definitely summer time, and I’m sure many women in their 40’s who are in search of that right swimsuit, and are realizing that it’s difficult to find the right (if not perfect) swimsuit that flatters our figures, provides and control.  Did you know that there are common mistakes that women over 40 often make in choosing the right swimsuit?  In truth we tend to go for the colorfully bright, solid colored swimsuits and bikinis that do not accentuate our figure and are not flattering at all.  Last summer I wore my first two piece bathing suit ever because I had lost a lot of weight and that was my main goal for 2009, but believe me, once I arrived at Santa Monica beach, I tied my sarong so tight under my breast line, I thought I was going to pass out.  I quickly became too self-aware of how I didn’t look that I thought it was going to destroy me, which was a lesson I learned.  From then on I’ve been striving to ensure that I wore the “right” swimsuit for my age.

For women over 40 who have large breasts, or breast that need support make the common mistake of purchasing swim tops and swimsuits that do not offer breast support and control.  Buying swimsuits should be treated like buying bras.  You look for the right size, height, comfort and fit.  The same goes for buying your swimsuit.  Look for swimsuits with color blocks on the bottom, which I read are ideal for accentuating your figure.  If you’re top, heavy, you can go the other way around in some cases. 

For God’s sake don’t assume that you can wear what you see everybody else wearing, because that may not necessarily be the case with you.  Remember that we may be in our/or over 40’s doesn’t mean we still have the body of a 25-year old.  I know for a fact I don’t.  If you buy a solid color swimsuit that you feel more comfortable with, keep in mind that it doesn’t necessarily mean you’re safe by any means.  Go with a swimsuit that is half and half, meaning solid on the bottom and a print on the top.  Or the other way around depending on your body measurements and weight.  If you’re solely going for looking good, fit and trim, then you have to think what will give you that appearance — what actually flatter your shape.   The swimsuits in the top figure from Suite 101 are ideal in complimenting you, your skin complexion and your figure at the same time.   Doesn’t wash you out and doesn’t draw attention to any problem areas you may have.

But if you’re more self-conscience about your hips and thighs, and midsection areas like I am, I’d be more inclined to go with the more modern and somewhat popular skirt-style swimsuit like what is featured here from Sierra Trading Post, which also comes in black.  But remember, you don’t have to stick with solid dark or bright colors just to make a statement while hanging out at the pool or the beach this summer.

You can find styles of this nature with tasteful prints and a variety of styles.

Like at Metrostyle.  They have some of the best styles in swimsuits this summer, such as this one, which would be one of my choices.  It hides problem areas and allows you to maintain pool and beach appeal.  And they are easy on the wallet.

Notice how the tank is covered in a floral print set on a dark background, and how it hands down just over the hips and midsection area.  And how the swim skirt comes just low enough to still give the appearance of a swimsuit.  This is also comes with a side-shirred brief if you wanted to be daring and not wear the swim shirt.  A good steal at $39.99. 

The good thing about swimsuits today is that they are available for everyone in every sizes, it’s just a matter of making the right choices in our selections.

Have a wonderful summer, and remember make the swimsuit work for you.  Stay the beautiful woman you are.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

