Skip to content

25 Year High School Reunion: What I’ll be Wearing While Keeping it Simple

March 15, 2011

I’ve gone to my 10 and 20 year high school reunions and with each one in terms of attire, I’ve kept it high on the level of upscale.  My electric blue Maggy London dress was a true hit at my 20 year high school.  The dress had a low-cut v-neck line, a tie in the front to form a nice bow, and I paired it up with a pair of black strappy high heel sandals from Fredericks of Hollywood.

With the 25th reunion well on its way in August to be held at The Proud Bird,  I spent the past week or so pouring over what I would wear; pants suit, dress, skirt ensemble, dress short set, lace jacket with a pair of lined slacks, the possibilities are endless.

For this year’s reunion, after putting much thought into it, I decided I’d keep it simple but with a hint of elegance.  I wouldn’t be me if I did not throw something in the mix that would twist things up a little.

So, since the reunion will be in the middle of summer, I thought I’d go with this beautiful cowl neck shell from Chadwicks.com.

It offers a hint of sheen and in this soft color,  this graceful cowl neck shell stands out underneath every cardigan, jacket or blazer! Or can be worn with alone with a nice skirt or pants.

In this case, I thought I would jazz it up with a wonderfully designed brocade patterned skirt.

The brocade pattern from Metrostyle.com gives this skirt a rich look and the metallic threads give it just enough shimmer to make it eye-catching! Pairing it with the cowl neck shell adds the right touch for a stunning ensemble.

The question becomes, now that I have the ensemble decided, what shoes am I going to wear?

I didn’t want to go to simple with the shoes given the choice ensemble.  The shoes have to be the fining statement to how stunning I will look when I step in the room being among the best dressed in the crowd.

There are tons of gold glittered high heel shoes to choose from, and they all speak volumes.  But only the right ones will be the ones I choose to make this ensemble pop.

If I can’t find the right gold glitter shoes, I was thinking along the lines of something like this from AMIClubwear.com.

These are designed with a patent faux leather upper in a platform sandals style with a round open toe, sequins detail front, ankle strap with adjustable buckle closure.  They provide a smooth lining and footbed, 1/2 inch platform and a 5-inch heel.

Then again, those are nice and all, but I’ve had my eye on these taupe platform slingback pumps by Carlos Santana.  They have a 2-inch platform with a leopard print footbed, and a 5 1/2 inch heel.  They add just the right touch to the skirt ensemble I’ve chosen for what is promising to be a fun and exciting event.  I managed to these shoes up from Ross Stores for $27.99.

While I’m keeping my outfit simple, it’s also kept at a low cost.  By the time I was done shopping for my outfit, I didn’t spend no more than $60.  Who says you can’t look good shopping on a budget?  I do it all the time.  The next time you’re planning for an event, before you go spending tons of money, shop around.  I can’t emphasize this enough.  You can find some great items at bargain prices.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

