Skip to content

It’s an All White Affair

February 17, 2012

The spring/summer seasons are the time for all white party events that take place all over Los Angeles.  Choosing the right outfit can be time consuming and can almost take more time than it takes to picking and purchasing the right shoes.  I work to take the time out of finding the right dresses by checking online resources that offer a variety of styles and selections and accommodating sizes.

When all else fails, I turn to Amazon.com because you can just about find anything you’re looking for and without spending a lot of money.  And besides I spent an entire day down in the Garment District and didn’t find one white dress I felt that was suitable for this event without being too over the top and not dressy enough.

For the Noir et Blanc event I an anticipating attending in March, I decided to step out of my comfort zone and step away from wearing black which has been a safe color for me.  I would widen my options and have two white dresses to choose from.

My first choice is the Sexy Ruched Designer Empire Waist Evening Cocktail Dress.  It is a stunning design that is a sheer couture inspired designer dress.   It is not too short, at knee-length and features sheer fabric ruched throughout the seams of the dress.  The thin spaghetti straps are satin that add to the accented satin flowers that align the empire waist line.  The dress features two layers of sheer layers with the top layer opening in the front center of the dress that are sewn in a design to create a pocket.  The bust is fully lined and is padded offering an attractive cleavage and with support.  There is no zipper of the dress, making it only necessary to slip the dress on.  Be sure to ensure to select proper sizing.   Cost for this dress was $38.99.

My second choice is this cute Sleeveless Ruched Pleated Spaghetti Strap Soft Knit Bubble Style Skirt Cocktail Party Mini Dress in white sugar rise that is the perfect alternative to my event and is idea for just about any special occasion.

This dress is comprised of thin spaghetti straps, an empire waist that is defined with an attached satin pleated band with a removable fabric-designed flower.  The sweet heart neckline is padded to offer support and the skirt flows with a bubble hem which ends just above the knee.

These dresses are an added plus to my dress collection and takes me out of my comfort zone from what I’m normally used to.  Cost for this dress, $37.99.

What I look for in choosing the right dress for my body type is how it’s made, the fabric type, style and size for the right measurements.  In receiving both the dresses and trying them on to see how they fit I was amazed to see that they fit just right in all the right places.  Not too small and not too big.  I received the dresses packed beautifully and in excellent condition.  I love the material of both dresses.  The material flows nicely and is very complimentary to my body type and fits comfortably.

For the price, I made an excellent buy and excellent choices.  So, which dress will Iwear to The Black & White Affair March 31, 2012?  I’d say I’m going with my first original choice, the Sexy Ruched Designer Empire Waist Evening Cocktail Dress.  I just love the droop of the sheer ruched material and how it creates a silhouette giving an illusion of side pockets.

My recommendation is if you’re looking for a dress for an event and your time is running out, check out dresses by Mall 24/7 Hot from Hollywood.  They have a wide selection of dresses to choose from in a variety of colors.  The prices are great, and the turnaround time is fast.  I have a wedding coming up this summer so you know where I’m going for a dress to wear with my rose pink chiffon high heels.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

