Skip to content

That Pretty Silver Thing

February 17, 2012

As I get older, and in the last year, one of the things I realized is that I’ve been playing it way too safe in fashion.  Fighting to stay away from colors I never really felt comfortable in or believed I wouldn’t look good in and letting other people deter me from giving it a try.  Up until November of last year I decided I would step out of my comfort zone and dare to be daring.  I dove into the tight fitting ruched, one-should dresses, dresses with pleated bodices and one shoulders and have even stepped it up a notch in the types and styles of shoes I’d be wearing more of and I have to tell you that the feedback has been unbelievable.

So with that said and with events I’m anticipating on attending, I thought I would take it even further in testing the waters to see just how far I could go.  I turned to one of my all time favorites, Frederick’s of Hollywood.  Many closely associate them with a high level of sex appeal given their tauty reputation back in the 80’s.  They have since revamped their overall style while remaining true to who they are.  They’ve expanded their sizes so even women of curves can enjoy their clothing and lingerie.  There are a number of favorites that I have had in their clothing and this silver piece is one of them.

Frederick’s of Hollywood describes it as “over-the-top-sexy mini with blouson upper and banded bottom. Curve-hugging attached, stretch-sequin skirt. Mock halter with back-of-neck buttons.”  This piece is perfect for attend concerts, partying at the night club, and just for stepping out stopping the show and turning heads.  This comes in black also and the measurements with my body type really worked well.

I decided that the best shoes to really set this outfit off are the All Star Women’s Glitter High Heels from Shiekh Shoes.  They are what I consider the perfect match with the right level of bling.  The metallic heel with the rhinestone embellishment add pizzazz to the stacked platform ankle strap shoes.  They are finished with rhinestone in the platform and glitter outer design with an approximately 6-inch high heel.  These are the shoes have been high on my radar list so when I could only find the size 7 in silver at the Westside Pavilion location, you know I made a serious mad dash over there to get them.  I’ve been drooling over for months.  You can find them in  black, silver and gold.  Of course I really wanted the gold ones, but with this outfit, I thought silver was more suiting.  I would definitely consider getting this dress in black along with these shoes in black, too, just because it is one of those styles that is fun and flirty in either color.

So to recap, for preparing for these events, I’ve gotten two white dresses, this silver bloussan dress, and the shoes and kept the cost to include tax and shipping all under $300.  It’s all about budgeting and looking for the bargains.  Of course the most expensive were the shoes and the dress from Frederick’s of Hollywood, but even I got a discount on the dress during Frederick’s of Hollywood’s Valentine’s Day sale.

You don’t have to spend a fortune to look hot.  That’s my motto.

 

Updated February 20, 2012.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

