Skip to content

Style File: Fun and Flirty for the Woman over 40

February 24, 2012

If you have been following this blog, you may remember a post I did some time back about fashion and the women turning 40.  Every now and then I like to take a look at how us women in our 40’s see fashion trends change and what styles fit our taste and personality, and to what level it has taken us in terms of being  more casual and conservative, to being more fun and flirty with a little sex appeal served up on the side.

One thing we don’t want to do is let our age define our style, sex appeal and personality.  In fact, we should let our age remind us of how young we can still feel and it seems that the right sense of fashion tends to do that.  I know it does for me and I’m proud to say I’m 44.

We often get caught in wanting to dress in clothes that are age appropriate.  For months I thought about this statement and finally came to the conclusion of “what the heck is age-appropriate clothing?”  Of course it’s not wearing the hot shorts, the go-go boots and the hot tank tops and T-shirts.  It’s wearing clothing that makes us stand out keeping us fierce and good looking.

Fun and Flirty for the Woman Over 40 by studio5 featuring slingback shoes

Slip dress
$270 – witchery.com.au

Zara slingback shoes
$80 – zara.com

Debut black handbag
£22 – debenhams.com

To what extent we can take fashion being over 40 is left to the imagination and it all depends the individual style and taste.  This year I challenged myself to step out of my comfort zone, try different styles to see what works with my taste, style and personality and it’s been an exciting ride thus far.  And the response has been overwhelmingly positive which lets me know that I don’t have to censor myself to those fashions that fit within my age range.  Because we all know fashion extends far beyond just your average pants suit…but don’t get wrong, you got some pants suits that are just as hot and sexy as some of the old fashioned ones we are use to wearing.

It’s not the end of the road just because we are in our 40’s.  In fact we are at the start of the road and can only go from there.  Have fun and be open to new and different things.  And remember to be true to who you are without undermining and short-changing yourself.  Rule the fashion scene and live the fun and flirty vibe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

