Skip to content

The Coffee Room: Threw it Together and Making it Look Good

May 7, 2012

How many of you ladies (and some of you fella) out there have gotten up on a Monday and had absolutely no idea on what to wear?  You had a busy weekend from Friday to Sunday night and you completely forgot to pull your work clothes together.  It happens to me all the time and I tell you, sometimes it’s a hit and miss. 

After spending two and a half hours hiking in Griffith Park with friends Sunday morning, cooking, laundry, cleaning, and loading TAP cards for the Metro Bus was of no interest to me.  “Calgon…take me away!!!”  Was the only thing that kept ringing in my mind.  The hot, hot bath felt so good to my bones and muscles, relieve the aches and pains, and just melted me away.  I was ready for a nap, but I still had the day ahead of me. 

This morning was one of those mornings where I had no clue as to what I was going to wear.  I had such a busy weekend that getting my clothes ready for work was the furthest from my mind.  So, as I climbed out of bed this morning, put-putting around the cool house, just before getting my daughter up and ready for school, I pulled together something that was as simple as I could get, that I knew I could get away with wearing and make it look good. 

I went with a mustard color top with a zipper in the back, black slacks, and black high heels with a sequin bow (picture to the left…it was kind of dark in the house even with the light, but you get the general idea of the outfit I wore).  The first pair of black pants had silk lining, with the weather warming up, I decided to go with something more comfortable, a cotton blend pair of black slacks with no lining, same length and same great look.

I call it the backup plan.  I always have one when I haven’t gotten myself ready for work the night before.  I can always put my hands on a pair of shoes, dress, top, pants, skirt..whatever I attempt to throw together for moments like this, and like I said, sometimes it’s a hit and miss, because I end up looking like a hot mess and I go through the day feeling like I just stepped out the closet and dressed in the dark.  These are those moments, too, that don’t always go as smoothly as I’d like, but in the end, the majority of the time, I make it work…the majority of the time I have my clothes laid out the night before. 🙂

 

Updated Tuesday, May 8, 2012

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

