Skip to content

Another DIY Maxi Skirt Success

September 20, 2012

My DIY maxi skirt is getting some mileage.  After my daughter first debuted her maxi skirt I made her to wear during the super warm weather we’ve had, her best and closest friend went bizerk when she learned that I made it for her.  It was then she just had to have one.

Like my daughter, she also wore hers to school, paired with a comfy sweat shirt-like top and her hair pulled up.  Talk about a dressed down but comfortable look.  She really liked the skirt.

Here’s a little Q&A of some of the questions I’ve been asked here and there, so I am answering those questions.  And to those who asked…Thanks.

How long did it take me to make the skirt?  It took me a total of 4 1/2 hours to make the skirt.  That included the measurements, the cutting and the pinning.  I measured my daughter to get an idea of her measurements because they are a similar a size.  I just adjusted them slightly to fit her friend.

What kind of fabric did you use?  Unlike my daughter’s skirt, made out of the macro silk fabric, we went with a knit stretchy fabric that has a nice blend and falls nicely and does well made into a maxi skirt.

Are you planning to make any more maxi skirts?  Yes.  Right now my daughter has her eye on a different type of fabric and color, even though she is leaning towards getting more of the macro silk but in a different color.  I have the macro silk in white, which I plan on making a high-low skirt probably in the weekend coming up.

What tools did I use making that skirt?  For her friend’s skirt — for those who don’t knnow, it is completely hand stitched…something my mom taught me how to do when I was younger when she used to sew.  The tools I used to make my daughter’s friend’s skirt included:

  1. 2 yards of fabric
  2. 1 spool of matching thread…the thread has to match exactly otherwise it would look weird
  3. The right size needle that can navigate through the  fabric smoothly
  4. Pins and scissors
  5. Elastic
  6. A lot of patience

When I made my daughter’s skirt, I used the sewing machine and it took me a little longer than 4 1/2 hours, too.  Because I was under the wire and I wanted her friend to have it the beginning of the week I set out to make the skirt in one night.

What other projects have you made? So far I have made two wrap around skirts (completely hand stitched), a one-shoulder maxi dress for my daughter, a one-shoulder mini cocktail dress, a high-low skirt (just getting practice on how to make one), and the two recent maxi skirts.

Have I ever thought about sewing professionally?  I have always wanted my own line of dresses.  I don’t sew all that well enough to do them on my own.  Of course, I’d have to enlist the help of a professional some time along the way.  I have no problems designing them, but actually making them is something different altogether.  I would need to take some classes, but with my schedule, time is not something I have in order to do that.  So I do it the old fashioned way.  Now, if I could get my hands on a fit mannequin, I would be set.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

