Skip to content

Style File: Styling with Forever21

December 6, 2012

This week’s Style File takes us to the hippest store in town, Forever21.  Like New York & Co., I have been really impressed with their huge selection in tops, dresse, pants, and even shoes.  And anyone who knows me will tell you I’m not quick to shop in Forever21  because of the lack of sizes and their inability to cater to plus size juniors and older women.  But because I’ve lost some weight over the past months, and have been able to fit into some of their tops and blouses, I’ve been changing my tune about Forever21.  And so has my daughter — she’s even applied to work at one of the local stores.

It’s not that often when my daughter and I venture off into the store and I can find something I can actually wear, that is with my curves and hips :).  This past weekend we were hanging out at the Baldwin Mall looking for boots for her upcoming 18th birthday and we just so happened went into Forever21 because we both saw something that caught our attention.  Fashion for me is flowy, classy, chic, elegant and trendy — that expresses my personality of being a lady of good taste, fashion sense, and class.

My first item was this Crossback Lace Trim Shirt that I absolutely love.  The color is soft, it’s chiffon and features a lace yoke, crisscross straps in the back, a collared v-neckline.  It is a full shell with a button down closure.  Has long sleeves with pleated button cuffs, a darted bust. Woven. Sheer. Unlined. Very lightweight.  Nice for the warm weather, and the best kind of pants I would wear this with are dressy slacks that have a nice flow to them.   

You can see the lace detail here.

And here is the crossback detail.  Very nice and compliments the lace very nice.

You can’t find this top online, but you can go into your local Forever21 store.  They may carry it.  

Next, I picked up this flounced contrast two-tone blouse that says everything about style and uniqueness.  

Of course anyone who knows me, knows that I like what is different, but is trendy, classy, and can wear nicely to the office or out on the town.  The only thing is, the largest size I could find was a large, sorry ladies, you won’t find it in any larger size, I’ve spent the last two days looking. 
 
About this top.  This is a longline blouse that features a very nice flounce overlay.  It has a buttown down closure as you can see, has a shirred high neckline and shoulders.  The sleeves are gathered with button-loop ends, and has a shirred and paneled waist with a relaxed fit.   It’s woven and is semi-sheer.
 
One of the things I can say I like about Forever21 is that their prices are always on the affordable side, which making shopping there easy and not hard on the wallet. 
 
If you’re ever in the Baldwin Hills area, be sure to check out the new store in the Crenshaw Baldwin Plaza (the correct name).  The new store is brighter, larger, and has tons more selections to choose from.  What an improvement.  It’s nice to see the store catch up to doing what other Forever21 stores are doing. 🙂
 
Updated Monday, December 10, 2012
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 24, 2013 7:15 am

    F21 sure has some great designs! Love the shirts you picked.

Leave a Reply

