Skip to content

Style File: DIY Winter Scarves

December 12, 2012

Braving the cold temperatures has always been something I know everyone has to prepare for.  This week Style File takes a look at a status I posted on my Facebook page about how many of the scarves we buy at the store can range from as low as $5 to as high as over $39, and like I had asked a neighbor about high-priced scarves (because I know someone who spent over $40 for a scarf), “what is it made of to cost that much?”  If I’m going to spend a fortune on a scarf, it will have to be trimmed in real fur or mink, or lined with diamonds.  I’m just saying.  For that amount of money, you’d be surprised at how much you could make if you made them yourself and sold them.  Think about it.

I talked so much about scarves that I decided to make one for myself.  I used to make them long before I was a teenager around the time I was just learning how to crochet and knit.  But I have never made one to this degree or as long and stylish as I made it. 

For this scarf I used a double crochet stitch which is really simple and basic, and a popular stitch that is very easy to learn.  Usually I used this stitch when I am making a square blanket, which is what I first learned how to crochet way back in the day.

241975_4704268481364_1436591983_o

How I did it.  I played around with the stitch a little bit to get a feel for how I wanted to make the scarf.  At the beginning I double crochet, crochet 2 chains then double crochet three times, repeating in every three chains to three chains to the end, crochet 2 chains then double crochet in the last chain to get this look.  Different from what I usually do, and have done.

Ordinarily I would have knitted this scarf like I’ve done in the past, but thought it would be interesting to see how it would look in a crochet setting.

doublecrochetThis is how the stitch would look if I am crocheting straight rows in a blanket.  I’ve only done this once, but it’s not a slow process if you’re a fast crocheter.  Photo from Crochet.About.com.

Crocheting is one of the easiest crafts to learn because you can work your way from simple basic stitches to the more extreme stitches that creates beautiful designs, especially in crafting scarves.

615102_4705994684518_1603097110_oThe yarn I chose was originally supposed to have been for a wrap I was knitting, but because of its thickness and the cooler temperatures we have ahead the next couple of days I undid the knitted portion I had already started and redid using the crochet pattern you see in the multi-color you see above.   To the right, is the finished scarf I wore this morning, standing at the bus stop with my daughter at 6:30 am this morning as we were on our way to get the day started.  It’s warm, nice and long at 83 inches long and 12 inches wide.  The scarf is actually 12-15 inches shorter than the length I originally wanted.

How long did it take?  I started making the scarf at approximately 6:45 pm last night and did not finish until 3:30 am this morning.  I only had an hour and fifteen minutes of sleep, so you can say I am lacking sleep right about now.  But it was well worth it.  This was one of those projects I can say I actually completed.

Will I make more scarves?  I love scarves, so I probably would in the months to come.  I want to learn other stitches to and use thinner yarns and other colors to create different looks.  Because crocheting to me is so much faster, most of my scarves will most likely be crocheted.  Even though knitting and crochet are a part of my list of many hobbies I enjoy doing, it’s also therapy.  One of those things I can sit and do quietly anywhere anytime when I have the time to spare.

The magic question is would I sell any of my scarves?  Have you seen the prices on some of the scarves you buy in the stores?  Some of them are quality made, while others look cheap and not worth the money.  If I sold my scarves, I’d probably sell them for $30.  Why?  Think about it…you are getting a hand-crafted scarf made with love and care, and a lot of patients (which I usually don’t have), time and consideration.

Never crocheted before?  The internet has fabulous resources on tutorials for the beginner.  You can see many styles and designs that novice crocheters are doing today.  Lionbrand.com is my favorite site and there are other sites like the crochetspot.com and doublestitchtwins.com.  Peruse the internet for many other great resources to help you learn how to crochet and/or knit, and check out any available classes in your area where you can go and be with others.  You’ll become versed in the many abbreviations that even I don’t know all of them.  Have fun while you learn.  I learned how to crochet using a pencil.  I learned how to knit using two pens.  A family friend gave me my first knitting needles and crochet hook back in the 80’s, which I am happy to say I still have to this day. 

DIY projects are fun.  Once you get started, you won’t know how to stop :).

Updated Thursday, December 20, 2012

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

