Skip to content

Hair: Relaxing Your Hair After You Dye It

March 23, 2015

Hello, ladies — those of you who are pondering whether or not to relax your hair after you dye it.  Some of you have been stopping by a post I had written a long while ago about dying your hair with a relaxer.  I want to answer the question again and hopefully put some of your mind at ease.

Rene Hair 3-22-15I dyed my hair on 3/07/15…of course you can’t tell because it’s not the color I wanted, but I did.  Then I waited two weeks and two shampoos and conditioners before relaxing my hair.  I used a protein complex prior to applying the relaxer creme, I used a protectant around my edges and my ears, and I used the protein complex with my conditioner (you can use it separately) and let it sit for about 10 minutes, then rinsed it out.  This is the result from having relaxed my hair two weeks after I dyed it.

Rene Hair 3-22-15BI have a good pair of trimming shears that I used to trim away the straggly hairs — taking your doing this because you want to keep your hair as even as possible.  If you are not sure about trimming your hair Google the best ways to trim your hair to avoid any unnecessary damage.

I don’t believe I mentioned this in my previous post, but during this time you have to take precautions to protect your hair from any breakage.  Products with oils, botanicals, and extracts that offer key ingredients in acting as anti-breakage tools can serve as safe guards for your hair and provide instant repair for healthier looking hair.

unnamedThis is one I’ve added to my hair regimen.  Although it can be used daily, I use it at least twice a week, or when my hair calls for it.  Since using this I found it works best on my ends with just a little vitamin E oil.  I still use my coconut oil and my olive oil grow therapy, but mostly for my scalp — but lightly to avoid my hair being weighted, and I use Finisheen after I’ve flat ironed and/or curled my hair — my hair just loves that spray.

Now, if you are contemplating relaxing your hair after you dye it, or visa versa, there are the precautions you need to take.  Regardless of which relaxer product you use there is a timeline you MUST follow to avoid burning and leaving it on your hair for too long which can burn your hair off and burn your scalp.  It can happen!!!  Follow the instructions exactly and keep the timing under or within ten minutes for application, working quickly as possible.  Fifteen minutes is pushing the barriers and subjecting you to burn.

My daughter told me about a vitamin A and B shampoo and conditioner that Organix has.  I am inclined to try it out, but before I do, I want to do some research on it, find any valid reviews about the product to see if whether or not it would be good for my hair.  So far this is what I’ve come across in terms of what the ingredients are for the B5 shampoo and conditioner by Organix.  This is the shampoo’s ingredients.

Ingredients

Water (Aqua) , Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate , Cocamidopropyl Betaine , PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Coco , Isostearamide , Pantothenic Acid (Vitamin B5) , Amodimethicone , Polyquaternium-10 , Capric Glycerides , PEG-6 Caprylic , PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate , Trideceth-12 , Cetrimonium Chloride , Sodium Chloride , Tetrasodium EDTA , Citric Acid , Diazolidinyl Urea , Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate , Fragrance

You want to pay attention that the products are not loaded with alcohol, which in my experience, leaves my hair dry and brittle, and has, in one instant, altered the texture of my hair since I wear relaxers, so I tend to stay away from products with an abundance of alcohol.  It makes a huge difference.

When dying and relaxing your hair, keep in mind the process that goes into protecting it long-term.  Look into deep conditioning which I recommend be done at least once a month and should not be left on your hair more than an hour because then your hair will be too fragile.  Sit under a dryer or a heating cap.  And shea butter is a good and popular sealant to use.

Homemade deep conditioners are probably the best because you are using all natural ingredients.  Mayonnaise is said to be a good deep conditioner because it leaves your hair soft afterwards, but this is ideal for those who wear their hair natural.  Use Olive oil, extra virgin coconut oil, shea butter, and other ingredients that will give the moisturizing your hair needs

It will protect from breakage, and promote healthy hair.

Google homemade deep conditioners for relaxed hair.  There are some good recipes out there.

Consult with an expert before going the route of dying and relaxing your especially if this is your first rodeo.  It can go terribly wrong if you do not take the necessary precautions and follow the instructions.  In either case make sure your hair clean when starting the processes.  When you are preparing to relax your hair avoid scratching your scalp, and wait 24 to 48 hours to relax your hair after you’ve washed and conditioned it.

If still unsure have it professionally done by someone who is highly skilled.  This way you get the treatment needed for good looking hair.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

