Skip to content

Fashion: Perfect Outfits When Attending a Wedding

March 28, 2015

Fashion has changed to the degree that even what we wear attending weddings has changed.  For some it has become more upscale, and for others it’s more of a laid back; and then there are those straight out the ghetto box, but you can’t judge them or criticize them.  They all are unique in their own way.

As we are continuously seeing fashion trends thinking outside the box with creativity at the help, the what do I wear to the wedding is a question that is being giving more and more consideration for the fashion conscience because the need to be different, unique, and of course not upstaging the bride and her wedding party, is essential.

So, I have a wedding coming up that I will also be photographing.  Now, I attended a wedding three years ago where the photographer was dressed like she was just lounging around the house. But that was her choice and what she was most comfortable in.  In this case, I am also a guest at the wedding so I have dual roles.  What this means is I have to dress as the guest and be prepared as the photographer.

1416786371807-P-2215365 1416786371972-P-2215365I was going to wear this fabulous blue lace dress.  See how the mesh drops it slightly off the shoulders, and how it opens in the back with a mesh covering?  Very glamorous and elegant.  But I thought better of the idea of wearing the dress since I’m going to be photographing the wedding, too.

I decided that this is more of a dress better for another special event like  the Blue & White event coming up in April, or going for cocktails, or for attending another function where dressing elegantly is called for.

Another thing we have to keep in mind is whether or not what you’re wearing is appropriate.  As guests attending the wedding, you really don’t want to be the one being talked about in a negative way because of what you wore.  Why put yourself in that type of situation anyway.

Wedding AttireI decided to switch it up altogether and go with something a little more subtle.

The blazer and pants are from H & M (off white), the blouse is an Eva Mendes collection piece from New York & Company when the line first launched in 2013, the purse is from Forever21 (getting ready to purchase), and the shoes are Qupid Pinch-01 I purchased from DB Shoes last year around September or October (can’t really remember when, but I obsessed over them until I got them).

Did I just pull a complete ensemble right out of my closet?  Well, yes I did!  I really didn’t want to spend a whole lot of money on an outfit when I’m going to be doing quite a bit of moving around.  This way, the money I am saving can go towards things like getting mine and my daughter’s hair done, getting her an outfit to wear, picking up camera equipment, and reserving a hotel room for an overnight stay.

The key to choosing the right ensemble is knowing what your style is, where the event is taking place, and how long you plan on staying.  You want to look good, but you also want to be comfortable. And of course you don’t want to look like you just climbed out of bed either.

So when you’re thinking about what to wear to a wedding, think about how far out you want to go how elegant you want to look, or how simple you want to keep it.  I like to keep it upscale.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

