Skip to content

Winter Fashion: Being Stylish in Cooler Temperatures

January 17, 2016

Southern California has been some cold weather in the height of the El Nino season.  Even though the rain levels have not been what we all have been expecting, many of us are still enjoying some of our favorite fall/winter fashions.

If you are looking to spruce up your winter fashion by adding something new and different without sacrificing your personal style and taste, you will be happy to know that this winter season there is lots to choose from, and without breaking the bank.

FB_IMG_1453023584621Let me draw your attention to one of my favorite ensembles I just put together this weekend.  So, I picked up this really cute light pastel pink sweater with a cowl turtleneck, three buttons on the collar (one hidden and two gold plated buttons), cuffed sleeves which you can uncuff and wear them long if you like (that’s how I like to wear my sleeves) and it comes with a belt, white ankle jeans, and the Sheikh Mellina-3 high heel pumps, and for a nice finishing touch, I added a really nice handbag large enough to house my smart phone, makeup, wallet, mirror and my iPod, because I’m always on the go.

I love the sweater because not only can I wear it with jeans, but I can also wear it with a pair of my light cream dress pants, or a cute pair of capri pants.  Either way i am making a fashionable statement when I walk out the house and I am turning heads because I am well coordinated from top to bottom.

Mellina-3 NudeDid I spend a lot on this ensemble?  Of course not.  I’m on a strict budget this month, so keeping cost down was a major factor.  The sweater, pants and purse only cost me $21 and the Mellina-3 high heels were $34.99 plus tax when I bought them months ago.  I must say, this is one of the best casual winter ensembles I put together this season.  This just proves that you can be stylish and trendy while keeping warm during cooler temperatures without breaking the bank, especially if you’re on a budget and you have to keep your spending to a minimum.

I live in Long Beach, and we are fortunate to not have terribly extreme weather, which makes it nice to be able to wear favorite fashions that keeps us stylish and trendy, and makes us feel sexy at the same time.  It is not very hard to do when you are looking to try new and different looks.  I can help you create looks like this or looks that are similar and I can point you in the right direction for finding low cost pieces you can put together.

Knowing what you like and how far you are willing to go with your look and style is important.  Know how to mix and match, and color coordinate to create some fabulous looks.  If you are into prints and patterns keep in mind that if you’re curvy, you should not wear vertical stripes.  This is a mistake too many of us make.  Wear styles and colors that are complimentary to your body type.

Check your local boutiques for low cost winter fashions.  But keep in mind that if you are on the hunt for some fabulous sweaters you better hurry because many stores are starting to phase out their winter wear and start bringing in the spring fashions in preparations for the Spring season that is literally around the corner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

