Skip to content

Hair: Clairol’s Textures & Tone Designed for Black Women’s Hair in Mind

January 13, 2022

Disclaimer:  I am not a professional hair stylist or expert.  All of my information about hair comes from personal experience, having worked with fantastic hairstylists over the years as well as not so great hairstylists, mistakes I’ve made and what I’ve learned to correct those mistakes, and talking to professional hairstylists about the best hair growth advice for healthy hair.  The information I provide is for informational purposes only.

0038151890011_500X500I have been asked a few times now about Clairol’s Textures & Tones hair dye and if it can be used on white women’s hair (sorry, no time for being politically correct).  Here’s the thing….this product, in my opinion — and having used it a few times — was designed with black women’s hair in mind.  The one advantage that this product does have that I have not seen other brands have is that it can be used on the same day as a relaxer, especially if you are doing it at home yourself.  Now, since using the product, I have spoken with former hairstylists, including my current hairstylists and they have all said it is better to wait approximately two weeks if you are contemplating using a permanent hair color as apposed to a semi-permanent hair color like I use now, which takes to the hair a lot better when the hair is freshly relaxed.

Clairol does offer information on using a permanent hair color on relaxed hair on their Relaxed Hair Solutions page, which I recommend reading especially if you have relaxed hair and you want to apply a permanent color to your hair.  While the general consensus from professional hairstylists is to not perform a same day color using a permanent hair color, this page may provide you with some helpful information into this process.

Hair 01.04.22Now, semi-permanent color is a whole different ballgame because it is more like rinse that washes out and has to be touched up…something like…every 6 – 8 weeks or after 23 washes, or as the color starts to get lighter and lighter and starts to fade out.

For example, this is my hair just washed on 01/01/22.  My hair has two different colors.  The one you see is a sapphire blue, and the other color is a mixture of a pink and ruby red.  I originally had this done in November right before Thanksgiving.  As the weeks have passed and I have regularly washed my hair, the blue is getting lighter and lighter and the color mixture is also getting lighter and lighter an indication that it is time for touchups as I am over the 8 week mark.

I have heard people complaining about semi-permanent colors washing out as soon after washing their hair after the initial application.  In order to the rinse to stick and last longer there are other processes you have to follow.  The rinse works so well on my hair is because a good chunk of my hair is gray, so that is why the blue is so apparent and the other colors works well because I have had this color combo for a few years.  You can try developer that works with it, but you have to understand that there are developers that can be used on relaxed hair as well, so you definitely want to research the different developers to ensure you are using the correct one especially if you do not already have chemically treated hair (i.e., non-relaxed hair).

Now, back to the Textures & Tones hair dye.  For the white women who have been asking about using this product on their hair…the best suggestion I can offer is to perform strand tests by following the instructions provided with the product to see how the color takes to your hair.  If you are satisfied with the results, then you should be good to go.  If you are not satisfied with the results, then maybe the product is not for your hair and perhaps trying a different brand might be an option.  And that brings me to my next point…hair type.

You have to keep in mind that not all women have the same hair type.  All of the products designed for black women’s hair is just that, designed for our specific kind of hair.  Mostly because we have different hair types that falls in line with being kinky (or nappy as us old schoolers know it as), has unique natural curl patterns with some looser and some tighter, and some with a combination curl pattern or no curl pattern at all.  There are a lot of products on the market that we just cannot use due to the alcohol content that dries out our hair or other ingredients that are too harsh for our hair.  So, having products that are specifically catered to our types of hair give us more options to choose.

In closing, Clairol’s Textures & Tones is one of my favorite hair dye products on the markets because Clairol took the time to create something for us, but has also grabbed the attention of others outside the spectrum.  I would be happy to hear about the results of using the product on non-black hair.  Email me at savvyhair101@gmail.com and send me a pic with your review of the product.

Thank you for reading!!!

No comments yet

Leave a comment